Bennetts BSB Pit Lane Reporter Larry ‘Scoop’ Carter, gives Knockhill a unique and exclusive preview of the season ahead…

100 Days to go until the 1st BSB race at Knockhill!

After one of the most dramatic conclusions in Bennetts British Superbike Championship history in 2023, which saw Tommy Bridewell clinch the title by just half a point over teammate Glenn Irwin in the final race of the season, never has a season been so eagerly awaited as 2024.

Tommy Bridewell wins the 2023 BSB Championship by half a point

Whilst the racing was as dramatic as it was sensational, last year was a watershed moment for a couple of reasons as 2024 gets underway without two of the most successful teams over the past thirty years.

2021 champions with Scotland’s own Tarran Mackenzie, McAMS Yamaha under the stewardship of team owner Steve Rodgers, announced that they were withdrawing from competition as of the end of 2023 whereas the racing world was shocked when maverick team boss Paul Bird, whose PBM team prior to last season had won eight Bennetts BSB crowns, suddenly passed away in September to leave a massive void in the paddock.

The very fact that Bridewell and Irwin ran under Birdy’s BeerMonster Ducati colours was a fitting testament to the most successful team in the paddock although Paul’s twin children, Frank and Jordan, are hoping to keep their dad’s memory alive as they strive to continue the PBM legacy with a newly formed team with Glenn Iriwn.

Glenn Iriwn and Tommy Bridewell in action at Knockhill

Glenn Irwin will remain with the team that saw him just miss out for a second year running but defending champion Bridewell was quick to shift camps in the uncertainty that followed Bird’s passing. The charismatic West Country rider has switched to the factory-supported Honda Racing UK team under the stewardship of Havier Beltran where he will defend his title running the number one plate on the latest version Fireblade.

Tommy Bridewell has switched to the factory-supported Honda Racing UK team

Race winners from last season, Kyle Ryde who finished third, and teammate Ryan Vickers, enter the second year of their contracts with the plush OMG Racing Yamaha team, who now have been promoted to official manufacturer status. Both riders had solid enough campaigns last term, although Vickers was hamstrung by injury at a couple of rounds, so will be hoping to add to the crown won for the team by Bradley Ray in 2022.

Kyle Ryde in action at Knockhill BSB 2023

Double Bennetts BSB champion Josh Brookes and Peter Hickman do likewise and stay at FHO BMW Racing Motorrad for a second season as Faye Ho’s team looks to build on an encouraging season in 2023. Brookes won two races last season with Hickman impressing more on the roads than his luck would allow in Bennetts BSB, but they will be a major force for sure.

Tyneside-based Christian Iddon will aim to put into practice what he learned in his debut season for Oxford Products Racing Ducati and has his best chance of landing that elusive crown as he too sticks with the same team whereas Honda Racing UK retain Andrew Irwin after his injury-riddled 2023 which should see an interesting mix in the team with fellow livewire Bridewell!

Impressive youngster Max Cook remains with the Completely Motorbikes FS3 Kawasaki team for a second season with near-neighbour Charlie Nesbitt doing likewise for Hawk Racing on the MasterMac Honda after his sensational rookie season which saw him claim a treble podium at his home round of Thruxton.

However, perhaps much of the interest, particularly from a Scottish perspective, comes from those mover and shakers who will be wearing new colours in 2024.

Local hero Rory Skinner, from just up the road from Knockhill at Perth, returns from his season Grand Prix duties in Moto2 to line up for the TAS Racing squad. The long-serving Northern Ireland team have backing from Cheshire Mouldings on the BMW and with the young Scot as their only representative in the Bennetts BSB class, what price him getting that debut victory this season? 

Another rider with a proud Scottish heritage is Danny Buchan who has joined the DAO Racing Kawasaki team for the season ahead after a forgettable season with injury last year. ‘Boom’ always goes well at Knockhill so with him and Skinner in action when the series visits Fife in mid-summer, there will be plenty of local support for them for sure.

Aussie Jason O’Halloran has moved to the Completely Motorbikes FS3 Kawasaki team after five years with McAMS Yamaha and will be hoping that a change of machinery will thrust him towards that title he has been so close to on recent occasions whereas former FS3 Kawasaki rider Lee Jackson also has a new challenge this year as he rides a MasterMac Honda for the first time in the colours of Steve and Stuart Hicken’s Hawk Racing team.

Perhaps one of the dark horses to watch out for is former Moto3 World champion Danny Kent who has secured the ride at Mar-Train Yamaha who now has the backing of McAMS. Kent showed impressive pace until his self-run team folded mid-season last year so expect a strong challenge from the number 52.

Long-term Bennetts BSB supporter Brent Gladwin retains the promising Storm Stacey and adds former Pirelli Superstock champion Tom Neave to his GR Motosport ranks whilst in the new Pathway evolution class, there’s a host of Superstock race winners including Billy McConnell (C&L Fairburn Properties Racing), Alex Olsen (Cumins by Team IWR Honda) and Franco Bourne (Rapid Honda). Dutchman Jaimie van Sikkelerus is another entry on the TAG Racing Honda where he is joined by former Knockhill podium man, Fraser Rogers.

Dean Harrison (Honda Racing UK), Luke Mossey (Tactix by Lloyd & Jones BMW), Louis Valleley (NP Racing Kawasaki), Brayden Elliott (DAO Racing Kawasaki) and Luke Hedger (CDH Racing Kawasaki) bolster the ranks meaning it’s sure going to be another unforgettable season. 

Knockhill comprises the fourth round of the series and takes place over the weekend of Friday 14 to Sunday 16 June 2023. For more information, please visit or