Jim Clark award for Knockhill stalwart Ian

Knockhill’s chief instructor, and former racing driver Ian Forrest, has been awarded the prestigious Jim Clark Memorial Award for 2010 by Ford. Ian began his racing career in 1971, racing in ‘Scottish Special Saloons’ and taking just four years to be crowned champion for two consecutive years.

In a career spanning more than three decades, Ian claimed various championships including Scottish 1-litre GT Champion in 1985 and Knockhill GT Champion in 1988, before he entered the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) in 1989.




Ian competed for four consecutive seasons in the BTCC and his 1991 effort saw him win the improver award. Ian’s son, Sandy, also races and has competed in the BRSCC (British Racing and Sports Car Club) Ford Fiesta Championship.


Presented annually, the Jim Clark Memorial trophy, sponsored by Ford, is awarded to Scottish people who have made a major contribution to the world of motoring.  Previous winners have included motorsport legends Sir Jackie Stewart, David Coultard, Allan McNish and Colin McRae.


Not only is Ian an excellent driver with natural talent, but he’s a real ambassador for Scottish motorsport committing more than 40 years to the sport and continuing to instruct at Knockhill.


After the presentation in Dundee, Ian said: “I’m astounded. When you look through the list of past recipients of the Jim Clark Award, and see who has won it, it’s quite unbelievable. To get the Sir Jackie Stewart medal from the Scottish Motor Racing Club and now the Jim Clark award, I’m just stunned and honoured. I really am delighted.”



Leave a Reply