Record entry for Grant Construction Rally on Sunday 4th January

The 41st season of motor sport will get under way this weekend at Knockhill , when we will host the opening round of the 2015 Scottish Tarmack Rally Championship on Sunday 4th January.

60 cars and crews will gather from all four corners of Scotland plus a guest or two from Northern Ireland and the North East of England to contest Sunday’s Grant Construction Knockhill Stages Rally.

Top seed on Sunday is the 2012 Grant Construction Knockhill Stages Rally winner, Michael Glendinning from Ryton near Newcastle. He will be up against former ‘5 of Clubs’ Champion Ian Paterson from Mouswald, near Dumfries and twice Scottish Saloon Car Racing champ, Andrew Gallacher from Kilmarnock. Completing the top six are Donnie MacDonald from Inverness one of Scotland’s top forest rally drivers, ex-marathon rally driver Stuart Walker from Torphichen in his unique Skoda Fabia S2000, and another forest rally regular, Nigel Feeney from Ayrshire.

Grant_Construction_Rally 1

Other drivers to look out for include the 2007 Scottish Rally Champion, Gary Adam from Tillicoultry in his Ford Escort Mk2 and the similarly mounted and equally spectacular John Paterson from Motherwell, plus Ayrshire’s Charlie Shaw and Alan Kirkaldy from St Andrews. Shaw has never contested a rally before but is no stranger to power and high speed as he regularly competes in Time Attack events in a 1000hp Ford Focus, while Kirkaldy has twice won the Scottish BMW Compact Cup motor racing series.


However, if it is wet and slippy, then the constantly changing slippery tarmac and loose gravel surfaces could provide the lower powered cars with a distinct advantage. In conditions like this, Ross Hunter from Newtown St Boswells could well spring a surprise. He was challenging for the rally lead last year until his 2 litre Peugeot 205 developed a fault, while Iain Wilson (Dalbeattie) in his 1600cc Vauxhall Nova and ‘Dangerous’ Des  Campbell from Coldstream in his Peugeot 206 have been known to embarrass much more powerful cars when conditions suit.

And guaranteed to warm the coldest hearts and tingle the eardrums is Kevin Ronaldson’s MG Metro 6R4. The Maryburgh driver has long been a fan of the V6 powered machine and continues to delight the rally crowds.

Gates open this coming Sunday morning at 7:30am with the first car setting of on the first of 8 Special Stages at 8:30am. Spectators can pre-book tickets online at £6 per adult or £8 at the gate on the day. Parking is free and all spectators will receive a 2015 programme of events at Knockhill plus a Special Offer for the Knockhill Rally School.

For rally fans, and all motor sport fans, there’s no better way to kick start the New Year.

Full Entry List (showing Driver and Co-drivers’ home towns):

1, Michael Glendinning/Paul Hughes (Ryton/TBA) Subaru Impreza

2, Ian Paterson/Helen Brown (Mouswald/TBA) Subaru Impreza

3, Andrew Gallacher/Tom Blackwood (Kilmarnock/Kilmarnock) Ford Escort Cosworth

4, Donnie MacDonald/Alan Smith (Inverness/ Inverness) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9

5, Stuart Walker/Julie McGuire (Torphichen/Grangemouth) Skoda Fabia S2000

6, Nigel Feeney/Phil Sandham (Monkton/Carnforth) Subaru Impreza B13

7, Lee Hastings/TBA (Collin/TBA) Subaru Impreza

8, Jim Sharp/Shona Hale (Ardwell/Dunfermline) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9

9, Charlie Shaw/TBA (Sorn/Mauchline) Subaru Impreza

10, Gary Adam/Gordon Adam (Dollar/Tillicoultry) Ford Escort Mk2

11, John Paterson/TBA (Motherwell/TBA) Ford Escort Mk2

12, Ross Hunter/Gary White (St Boswells/St Boswells) Peugeot 205

14, Iain Wilson/Keith Riddick (Dalbeattie/Castle Douglas) Vauxhall Nova

15, Jim McDowall/Charlotte McDowall (Creetown/Creetown) Subaru Impreza N10

16, Kevin Ronaldson/Barry Hogg (Maryburgh/TBA)  Metro 6R4

17, Des Campbell/Harry Marchbank (Coldstream/Thornhill) Peugeot 206

18, Scott McBeth/Andrew Falconer (Rosemarkie/Inverness) Vauxhall Nova

19, Chris McCallum/Peter McCallum (Ayr/ Ayr) Ford Escort Mk2

20, Craig Gibson/Chris Lees (East Kilbride/East Kilbride) Ford Escort Mk1

21, Billy McLelland/Chloe Fleming (Kirkconnel/Uddingston) Opel Kadett 400

22, Graeme Rintoul/Jim Rintoul (Kirkcaldy/Ceres) Ford Fiesta

23, Alan Kirkaldy/TBA (St Andrews/TBA) Ford Escort

24, Ross McFadzean/TBA (Troon/TBA) Subaru Impreza

25, Craig Stewart/Wattie Warwick (Falkirk/Biggar) Subaru Impreza

26, Graeme Sherry/Cameron Fair (Gartcosh/Stewarton) Renault Clio

27, Paul Ballantyne/Graham Bruce (Peterhead/Marykirk) Renault Clio

28, Gordon Winning/Robin Laird (Neilston/Houston) Ford Escort Mk2

29, Ross Carbry/Kyle Livingstone (Carluke/TBA) Vauxhall Corsa

30, Erle Strachan/Nick Young (Aberlour/Gateshead) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo6

31, Greg Inglis/Cammy Reid (Montrose/Stirling) Citroen Saxo

32, James Gibb/Billy Gower (Kilmarnock/Galston) Subaru Impreza

33, Carin Logan/Christine Sanderson (Smailholm/Scremerston) Citroen Saxo VTS

34, Peter Humphrey/Dougie Humphrey (Dunbar/Dunbar) Opel Kadett Coupe

35, Kevin Clarke/Steven Ogston (Aberdeen/Kintore) Vauxhall Nova

36, Gordon McElrath/TBA (Cupar/TBA) Vauxhall Chevette

37, Scott Morrison/Craig Sim (Elgin/Elgin) Vauxhall Corsa

38, Keith Meins/Graeme Meins (Eyemouth/Eyemouth) Proton Satria

39, Lindsay Taylor/David Murie (Erskine/Glasgow) Peugeot 205 GTI

40, Ewen MacGillivray/Shona MacGillivray (Oban/Mull) Vauxhall Nova

41, Mark Runciman/Julian May (East Kilbride/Glasgow) Vauxhall Nova

42, Ian Shiells/Nicola Ritchie (Ellon/Premnay) BMW Compact

43, John Maxwell/TBA (Cupar/TBA) Ford Escort Mk2

44, John Robertson/Violet Kydd (Crieff/Perth) Ford Escort Mk2

45, Peter Garrow/Karen Garrow (Elgin/Elgin) Audi TT

46, Norman McLaughlin/William MacKenzie (Elgin/Brechin) Subaru Impreza

47, Jock McFarlane/George Donaldson (Blairgowrie/Alyth) Ford Fiesta ST

48, Donald Bowness/Ian Parker (TBA/Lochgilphead) Vauxhall Nova

49, Kevin MacIver/Robin Nicolson (Cruden Bay/Largs) Ford Escort Mk2

50, Archie MacCallum/TBA (Glasgow/TBA) Vauxhall Corsa

51, Iain Miller/Gary McDonald (Ellon/Aberdeen) Peugeot 106

52, Kevin Burns/Gordon Finnie (Blairgowrie/Perth) Peugeot 106 GTI

53, Leonard Jones/Greg Paterson (Tillicoultry/TBA) Vauxhall Chevette

54, Eamonn Kilmurray/Derek Cassells (Kennoway/Windygates) Vauxhall Nova

56, Ross Auld/Alister Haw (Isle of Arran/Paisley) Ford Escort Mk2

57, Robert Irvine/Robert Cumming (Rosyth/Ayr) Vauxhall Astra

58, Ali Dalgleish/David Dalgleish (Lanark/Lanark) Subaru Impreza

59, Michael Robertson/Richard Stewart (Dunfermiline/Falkirk) Toyota Aygo

60, Sandy Fairbairn/Steven Hay (Earlston/Glenrothes) Nissan Micra

61, Scott Irvine/Claire Grant (Oakley/Oakley) Peugeot 205

62, Derrick Jobb/TBA (Fintona, N.Ireland/TBA) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo9