Go Motorsport Live at this Sundays Scottish Championship SMRC race day

This Sunday (August 16th) will see the return of Scottish Championship car racing at Knockhill Racing Circuit, by Dunfermline, and for the first time, every form of motor sport in Scotland will be on display with Go Motorsport – Live. On track, the SMRC organised race event is Round 5 of the 2015 Championship and this year it has already been built as a record breaking year for the SMRC with bumper grids and quality racing to match; Sunday’s 18-race programme promises more of the same.

To add to the intense race day on track, the Go Motorsport feature will display almost every branch of two- and four-wheeled motor sport and their respective Club representatives will be on show in a special exhibition area. Spectators will be able to speak first hand to reps from the sporting world of karting, rally driving, off road sport, as well as circuit racing. The initiative has been created by Rory Bryant, the National Development Officer for motor sport in Scotland.

Go Motorsport logo

At the last round in July, John Paterson from Motherwell secured his 2nd 600-pointer of the year during the opening Legends races – a continuation from the previous event back in June – and now comfortably leads the series.
In the only single seater racing car class running in Scotland, the Scottish Formula Ford Championship, 17 year old Neil MacLennan (Tore) secured his first-ever race win in July. However championship leader Adam MacKay (Aberdeen) bounced back in emphatic style to take the 2nd race win and his 6th of the season ahead of MacLennan and Gronkowski (Banff). MacKay, although despondent after the initial race, showed just why he’s been signed up by the Ecurie Ecosse Young Driver Initiative by taking the chequered flag some 8 seconds ahead of the field.

In the Scottish BMW Compact Cup, Steven Dailly (Wallyford) remains the man in charge following another brace of wins and heads the championship by a comfortable margin. Gary Clarke (Macduff) took the other heat win whilst Greg Sutherland (Ellon), David McNaughton (Bridge of Earn), Derek Kinghorn and Cliff Harper (Ellon) walked away with runner-up podium positions for their weekend’s work.

The 18 race programme starts at 10.40am on Sunday with adult admission £13, concessions £8 and under 12’s free.